Album 40: Steely Dan – “Can’t Buy A Thrill”


  1. Do It Again
  2. Dirty Work
  3. Kings
  4. Midnite Cruiser
  5. Only A Fool Would Say That
  6. Reelin’ in the Years
  7. Fire in the Hole
  8. Brooklyn
  9. Change of the Guard
  10. Turn That Heartbeat Over Again

You’re going to shake your head at this statement: Guitar Hero and Rock Band exposed me to Steely Dan.

It took a couple really funky songs to turn me onto one of the most skilled bands of all time. “Can’t Buy A Thrill” is the first studio album by Steely Dan and it’s a classic.

I’ve seen the vinyl hanging up on the walls in Tunes, the music shop in Northfield, NJ that I frequent so I figured if this album was hanging up next to “Sgt. Peppers” and “Darkside” and other great albums that it must be a classic. And yea, I was right.

“Do It Again,” is one of Steely Dan’s biggest songs and it opens up the album. It has a jazzy feel, kind of giving off the feel you get when at a jazz dive bar. “Reelin’ In the Years” is the other big song off this album as it features a more traditional rock sound.

Other notable songs include “Only A Fool” and “Fire in the Hole.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s