Day 24: Shinedown – “The Sound of Madness”

Tracklisting

  1. Devour
  2. The Sound of Madness
  3. Second Chance
  4. Cry For Help
  5. The Crow & the Butterfly
  6. If You Only Knew
  7. Sin With A Grin
  8. What A Shame
  9. Cyanide Sweet Tooth Suicide
  10. Breaking Inside
  11. Call Me

Thank God I’m back to rock.

Flyers hockey. It’s what I think of when I listen to this album. “The Sound of Madness” (song) was played during the Flyers’ intros a couple seasons ago. Filling the then-named Wachovia Center, that song pumped the orange-clad Philly fans up to watch their Flyers make easy work of their opponents.

Anyway, that song made me curious in hearing the rest of Shinedown’s music. And I must say I was pleasently surprised with how good they are.

They kinda sound like every traditional hard rock band from the 2000’s except they actually don’t play pop-oriented watered-down garbage and can actually write good songs.

One great example is on their best song from the album, “The Crow and the Butterfly.” On some radio program, lead singer Brent Smith said he had a dream about a mother whose son passes away. The song is about a mother dealing with losing her son and said it’s one of the most intense pieces of music he ever wrote.

I painted your room at midnight
So I’d know yesterday was over
I put all your books on the top shelf
Even the one with the four leaf clover

Man, I’m getting older
I took all your pictures off the wall
And wrapped them in a newspaper blanket
I haven’t slept in what seems like a century
And now I can barely breathe

Just like a crow chasing the butterfly
Dandelions lost in the summer skies
When you and I were getting high as outer space
I never thought you’d slip away
I guess I was just a little too late

“Devour” opens the album on a high-octane note. It gets the engine warmed before “The Sound of Madness” wraps its hands around your brain and shakes it around for a good four minutes.

Just check out “The Crow…” and you’ll understand:

Leave a Reply

