Day 23: Jazy-Z – “The Blueprint”

TrackListing

  1. The Ruler’s Back
  2. Takeover
  3. Izzo (H.O.V.A.)
  4. Girls, Girls, Girls
  5. Jigga That Nigga
  6. U Don’t Know
  7. Hola’ Hovito
  8. Heart of the City (Ain’t No Love)
  9. Never Change
  10. Song Cry
  11. All I Need
  12. Renegade feat. Eminem
  13. Blue Print (Mama Loves Me)

For the first three weeks, it was classic rock, indie, folk and some other good stuff that was centered around musicians and instruments. Well now I’m busting out my second straight rap album… sorry guys.

But Jay-Z’s “Blueprint” is a masterpiece and arguably his best album (“The Black Album” is a close second). It’s full of notable samples from other songs that allowed it to get so big. It also helped that Hova is one of the greatest lyricists in rap history and a top five rapper all time.

The album features some classic tunes like the duet with Eminem on “Renegade,” “Izzo,” “Jigga That Nigga” and “Hola’ Hovito.”

“H to the Izzo, V to the Izzay” spells out Jay-Z’s common nickname, Hova. It’s an incredibly addictive song that gets you singing the chorus all day and night. “Jigga” is the same way. “Hola” is a great Latin feel that has a LA kinda feel to it.

But the song I want to break down is “Renegade” with Em. It is one of the most lyrically incredible songs to ever hit the shelves in the hip hop section.

Jigga and Shady tear the song a new one, topping each other in the back-and-forth rap. Hova would set the pins up and Em would knock them down. Check out the second verse:

[Jay-Z’s verse]
I had to hustle, my back to the wall, ashy knuckles
Pockets filled with a lot of lint, not a cent
Gotta vent, lot of innocent of lives lost on the project bench
What you hollarin? Gotta pay rent, bring dollars in
By the bodega, iron under my coat, feelin braver
Doo-rag wrappin my waves up, pockets full of hope
Do not step to me I’m awkward, I box leftier often
My pops left me an orphan, my momma wasn’t home
Could not stress to me I wasn’t growin, specially on nights
I brought something home to quiet the stomach rumblings
My demeanor thirty years my senior
My childhood didn’t mean much, only raisin greener
Raisin my fingers to critics raisin my head to the sky
Big I did it multi(i) before I die (nigga)
No lie, just know I chose my own fate
I drove by the fork in the road and went straight.

[Eminem: Verse]
See I’m a poet to some, a regular modern day Shakespeare
Jesus Christ the King of these Latter Day Saints here
To shatter the picture in which of that as they paint me
as a mother of hate, Satan and scatter-brained atheist
But that ain’t the case, see it’s a matter of taste
We as a people decide if Shady’s as bad as they say he is
Or is he the ladder, a gateway to escape?
Media scapegoat, they can be mad at today
See it’s as easy as cake, simple as whistling Dixie
while I’m wavin the pistol at sixty Christians against me
Go to war with the Mormons, take a bath with the Catholics
in holy water no wonder they try to hold me under longer
I’m a motherfuckin spiteful, delightful eyeful
The new Ice Cube, motherfuckers hate to like you
What did I do? (huh) I’m just a kid from the gutter
makin this butter off these bloodsuckers, cause I’m a muh’fuckin RENEGADE!

Perfection at it’s finest. Now have a listen and realize that what I’m talking about is pure genius.

Leave a Reply

