Day 17 – Jack Johnson – “In Between Dreams”

Tracklisting

  1. Better Together
  2. Never Know
  3. Banana Pancakes
  4. Good People
  5. No Other Way
  6. Sitting, Waiting Wishing
  7. Staple It Together
  8. Situations
  9. Crying Shame
  10. If I Could
  11. Breakdown
  12. Belle
  13. Do You Remember
  14. Constellations

Jack Johnson, like good Italian wine, has gotten better with age. Johnson’s earlier material seemed boring and redundant but as he started to add a strong backing band, his music took life.

It started with “On and On” in 2003 where Johnson started to liven up his music with songs like “Taylor” and “Rodeo Clowns.” So in 2005, Johnson hit it perfectly with “In Between Dreams,” which is heads and shoulders above the rest of his work and that catapulted him into stardom.

The opening song, “Better Together” is known as his most popular song. It goes back to his acoustic roots but moves at a pace that hooks the casual listener. That’s probably why it was the album’s first single.

Other great songs off the album include “Banana Pancakes,” “Good People,” “Sitting, Waiting, Wishing,” “Staple it Together,” and “Breakdown.”

Of those songs, “Sitting…” and “Breakdown” really captured my attention. “Sitting…” is about a man trying to be with a girl he has fallen in love with but his moves keep getting shut down (hits home in a way to me haha).

I sing ya songs I dance a dance
I gave ya friends all a chance
Putting up with them wasn’t worth never having you
And maybe you been through this before
But it’s my first time
So please ignore
The next few lines cause they’re directed at you

I can’t always be waiting waiting on you
I can’t always be playing playing your fool
I keep playing your part
But it’s not my scene
Wont this plot not twist?
I’ve had enough mystery.
Keep building me up, then shooting me down
Well I’m already down
Just wait a minute
Just sitting waiting
Just wait a minute
Just sitting waiting

See that, women? This is why you drive us men so God damn crazy. Throw us a freakin’ bone is all Jack is askin’ ya!

Anyway, “Breakdown” was actually written in a train in France and it was Johnson hoping the train would break down so he “could take a walk around and see what there is to see.”

The album cover has a picture of a mango tree that is talked about in “Better Together.” Who doesn’t love mangos?

Leave a Reply

