Day 11: Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Blood Sugar Sex Magik”

Tracklisting

  1. The Power of Equality
  2. If You Have to Ask
  3. Breaking the Girl
  4. Funky Monks
  5. Suck My Kiss
  6. I Could Have Lied
  7. Mellowship Slinky in B Minor
  8. The Righteous and the Wicked
  9. Give It Away
  10. Blood Sugar Sex Magik
  11. Under the Bridge
  12. Naked In the Rain
  13. Apache Rose Peacock
  14. The Greeting Song
  15. My Lovely Man
  16. Sir Psycho Sexy
  17. They’re Red Hot

This is one of my favorite albums of all time and in the top five albums of the 1990’s if not the greatest from that decade. “BSSM” is a funky masterpiece. It’s filled with a handful of hit songs that RHCP fans die to hear in concert every show.

I don’t know where to start with this album. I guess I’ll get it out there and say “Under the Bridge” is probably the most iconic song off this album. A ballad that Anthony Kiedis wrote as he felt distant from band mates Flea and John Farusciante, it depicts a lonely drug addict under a bridge in Los Angeles. Kiedis had been sober for three years and felt distant from the pot-smoking Flea and Frusciante, who continued to do so at his dismay.

Sometimes I feel like I don’t have a partner
Sometimes I feel like my only friend
Is the city I live in, the city of angels
Lonely as I am, together we cry

“Under the Bridge” is a love song to LA, the city RHCP is from. It is still one of the most influential songs in rock history, a Moses to alternative rock in the early and mid-90’s.

The other two main songs off “BSSM” are “Give it Away” and “Suck My Kiss.” They go back to RHCP’s typical funk and hard rock sound with lyrics that make any parent cringe. From “Give It Away” (love these lyrics):

What I’ve got you’ve got to give it to your mamma
What I’ve got you’ve got to give it to your pappa
What I’ve got you’ve got to give it to your daughter
You do a little dance and then you drink a little water

What I’ve got you’ve got to get it put it in you
What I’ve got you’ve got to get it put it in you
What I’ve got you’ve got to get it put it in you
Reeling with the feeling don’t stop continue

Two songs off this album that I feel get over looked are “The Power of Equality,” the opening song on the album and “Naked in the Rain.” “Power” is four minutes of awesome funk driven by Flea’s bass-line. “Naked” features a great solo by Flea – I told you I’m a sucker for bass.

“Blood Sugar Sex Magik” is a nice blast from the past to break up the run of current music on this site. Sit back, smoke a joint if it’s your thing, and revisit 1991.

BONUS: Also check out RHCP’s “Californication” and “By the Way” for a continuous day of awesome RHCP music. And if you have the time, “Stadium Arcadium,” which should have been one disc of the best songs from those sessions, is filled with great songs as well.

Leave a Reply

