Day 4: Stephen Kellogg & the Sixers – “Glassjaw Boxer”

Track listing

  1. Sweet Sophia
  2. Glassjaw Boxer
  3. Cabin in the Woods
  4. 4th of July
  5. Sweetest Goodbye
  6. In Front of the World
  7. Milwaukee
  8. Father’s Day
  9. Heart of Pain
  10. Why Are You Talking to Me?
  11. Big Easy

“Glassjaw Boxer” was suggested to me by my buddy Justin the other day and he sent me the album online.

Now I’ve seen Kellogg before, as an opening act for O.A.R. a few years ago. During the night of that show, one of the members of the Sixers had a baby and O.A.R. had the whole band come up on stage to join them and cover the Allman Brothers Band hit “Midnight Rider” which was an excellent cover.

Anyway, Kellogg’s piano-driven songs have shades of The Fray minus the crappy, same-song sound.

The album starts out with “Sweet Sophia,” a beautiful ballad. A couple songs in, “Cabin in the Woods” reminds me of something written by Gaslight Anthem, which isn’t a bad thing at all.

“The Sweetest Goodbye” sounds like it could be the album’s single. I didn’t research this CD at all but going by it’s make-up, lyrics and meaning behind the song, it’s radio friendly and an easy song to love.

There was only one thing I didn’t like about the CD was that it put too many slow songs in succession. Though “In Front of the World” all the way up to “Hearts in Pain” were really good, I found myself getting bored with the album.

That thankfully changed with “Why Are You Talking to Me?” which was the next-to-last song on the album. That had another single-feel to it. “Big Easy” closed the album out on a low note, something I’m not a huge fan of.

One comment on “Day 4: Stephen Kellogg & the Sixers – “Glassjaw Boxer”

  1. Justin says:

    4th of July is one of my favorites, and i’m not even sure why.
    .
    definitely one of those bands where you have to buy all of their albums. haha, every cd has a few songs that are awesome, and a few that are too slow for my taste. When you have time for it, my favorite songs from their other albums would probably be..

    “Anthem of our discovery” and “As good as it has been” from their “lucky eleven” album..

    “Start the day early”, and “See you later, See you soon” from their self titled album “stephen kellogg and the sixers”

    as far as studio albums go. haha. i believe i have all of these songs on my itunes. if you ever want anything, let me know!

Leave a Reply

