Welcome! And previous album reviews

Two years ago I gave up listening to my favorite band, the Dave Matthews Band, for Lent. It wasn’t an easy process as I felt myself craving the one band I could listen to non-stop for hours at a time.

I did make it through Lent, celebrating the day of Easter with DMB-filled day. Now it’s two years later and I’m ready to embark on that journey again. I wish I created this blog back on Wednesday so now I will have to update you guys with a post about the two albums I listened to on Wednesday and yesterday.

Wednesday, March 9, 2011: Billy Joel – “Live at Shea Stadium”

This album came out on Tuesday. It’s the second night of Billy Joel’s concert at Shea Stadium, the last concert that piece of crap stadium ever held. It’s kind of bittersweet for me as a diehard Phillies fan but in the end, my love for Joel far out-weighed my hatred for the Mets.

The album was filled with a bunch of his live standards like “Angry Young Man,” “River of Dreams,” “My Life” and “Piano Man.” But it also featured some great songs that haven’t been released or played much as of late live such as “Lullabye,” with a full orchestra, a recent version of “Captain Jack,” “Summer, Highland Falls,” and a sexy version of “Zanzibar” with Carl Fisher tearing it up on the flugal horn.

It also featured many guest spots such as Garth Brooks on “Shameless,” John Mayer on “This is the Time,” Tony Bennet on “New York State of Mind” and Paul McCartney on the Beatles classics “I Saw Her Standing There” and “Let It Be.”

Overall this was a fantastic live album for Joel, who is in his 60’s and still rockin’ the hell out of his shows.

Thursday, March 10, 2011: The Decemberists – “The Crane Wife”

Tracklisting

  1. The Crane Wife 3
  2. The Island
  3. Yankee Bayonet
  4. O Valencia
  5. The Perfect Crime No. 2
  6. When the War Came
  7. Shankill Butchers
  8. Summersong
  9. The Cranewife 1 & 2
  10. Sons & Daughters

This is one of those albums I had on my iTunes and certain songs would pop up on my “2000s” playlist on my iPod. I decided to give this album a listen because the purpose of this project is to give new albums a listen, dig up some oldies and tribute some of my favorites.

The Decemberists are a ridiculously talented group whose sound I have absolutely fallen in love with. “The Island” and “The Perfect Crime No. 2” were two songs that really stuck out to me the most. Later on in the project, I will be listening to their new album “The King is Dead” which was the album that got me into this band.

This is one of those albums where I wished I was writing this as I was listening to I could give you a play-by-play of my mood. I will try to do that with each of these albums as I go along.

I will be listening to 311’s “Soundsystem” later tonight seeing as today is March 11th. Take care guys and I hope you enjoy the blog.

Leave a Reply

